2013 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award

Gallery 1 April 6 - May 19, 2013

2013 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award
6 April – 19 May
Gallery 1 and Foyer Gallery 

Now in its 13th year, The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award is considered one of the most important annual surveys of contemporary Australian photographic practice. This highly anticipated award, with a total $30,000 in prizes and acquisitions, is a highlight of Gold Coast City Gallery’s exhibition program. From close to 300 entries, this year’s guest judge acclaimed New Zealand photographer Anne Noble has selected 65 finalists for display.

Winners Announced 

Congratulations to Liam Benson and Justine Varga, joint winners of the 2013 Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award

(Pictured left) Justine VARGA, Moving out #1 2012, type C photograph, Courtesy of the artist and Stills Gallery, Sydney and Hugo Michell Gallery, Adelaide

Click here to read the Media Release

Finalists on display
Hoda AFSHAR, Svetlana BAILEY, Liam BENSON, Jessie BOYLAN, Chris BUDGEON, Anna CAREY, Amy CARKEEK, Gary COCKBURN, Tony COLEING, Michael COOK, Meg COWELL, Patrick CREMIN, Rebecca DAGNALL, Joanne DAY, Tamara DEAN, Damian DILLON, Ella DREYFUS, Cherine FAHD, Merilyn FAIRSKYE, Jacqueline FELSTEAD, Anne FERRAN, Kaye FORSTER, Phillip GEORGE, John GOLLINGS, Kelly HUSSEY-SMITH & Alan HILL, Alexander JAMES, Natalie JEFFCOTT, Ingvar KENNE, Katrin KOENNING, Mine KONAKCI, Annika KOOPS, Ashlee LAING, Hailey LANE, Marcia LEONARD, Anne MACDONALD, Rachel MARSDEN, Phoebe MCDONALD, Michael MILLER, Courtney MILLETT, Peter MILNE, Laura MOORE, Kimberly MORGAN-SMITH, David NIELSEN, Geoff PARR, Brett RAMSAY, Nathalie REINHOLDTSEN, Carlie ROACH, Callum ROSS, Julie RRAP, Sam SCOUFOS, Laki SIDERIS, Matthew SLEETH, Kurt SORENSEN, Katie SORRENSON, David STEPHENSON, Neale STRATFORD, Julie SUNDBERG, Christian THOMPSON, Tegan TRUMAN, Warren VANCE, Justine VARGA, J.J. VOSS, Dianna WELLS, Peter WHYTE, Vikky WILKES

About the Judge: Anne Noble
Anne Noble is Professor of Fine Arts (Photography) at Massey University, Wellington, New Zealand. She is the Australia and New Zealand curator for the 2013 Photoquai  Biennale. The Dunedin Public Art Gallery honoured Noble with a retrospective exhibition which toured from 2001 to 2003. She was a recipient of an Arts Foundation Laureate Award in 2009 and has travelled to Antarctica on fellowships from Creative NZ and the US National Science Foundation.  In 2003 Noble was awarded the Order of Merit for services to photography in New Zealand. Her work has been exhibited in Australia, France, Germany, New Zealand, Spain and the United States and is held in numerous international collections.  

Competition Information


iPhoneography Workshop
Sat 11 May, 9.00am - 1.00pm 

Words in the Gallery
The Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Literature and Poetry Prizes 2013

Sat 11 May, 3.00 - 5.00pm

Photography is the medium of our age - everyone has a camera now and if you are in a public place a camera is almost certainly watching you. The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Photography Award is an important annual survey of contemporary Australian photographic practice and is a must-see exhibition for anyone interested in photography and media.

Year Level Suitability Year 4-12
 Identity, landscape, contemporary society
Curriculum Areas Visual Art, Media Arts
Art Form Photography
Support Teacher's professional development workshop - iPhoneography, Mon 22 Apr 4.00pm - 7.00pm
Bookings 5588 4000 / gallery@theartscentregc.com.au

Supported by The Josephine Ulrick and Win Schubert Foundation for the Arts.

Proudly supported by